Ujjayi Pranayama Stages 1 to 8 – Weekly Advanced Class 94

Focus: This class explores ujjayi pranayama. In ujjayi pranayama both inhalation and exhalation are consciously deepened and lengthened. In his book “Light on Pranayama” B.K.S. Iyengar methodically presents ujjayi breathing in 13 distinct stages. The first eight of these stages are practiced in this video. Stages one to four introduce fundamental techniques of ujjayi breathing from a reclining position. This helps you explore the basic principles of yogic breathing whilst keeping your body and mind free of tension. Stages five to eight are practiced from an upright seated position. Ujjayi pranayama can help to simultaneously relax the body and nervous system, whilst bringing clarity and focus to the mind.

Key Poses: Savasana, ujjayi pranayama

Equipment: Mat, bolster, 2 blankets

Level: Advanced

Duration: 35 min

Download Class

Submit a Comment

Yoga poses